Unconscious Eating

Have you ever wolfed down a double bacon cheeseburger with fries and washed it down with a shake then said to yourself “What did I just do”?

Ever looked at a chocolate cake and said NO, but helped yourself to 3 slices anyway, then felt guilty after eating the last bite?

Ever sat in front of the television with the munchies then felt sick at the realization that you’ve just eaten a pound of Doritos just 15 minutes into the movie?

Ever said to yourself “This is the first day of my diet” only to procrastinate it and realize that the “first day” was supposed to be three weeks ago?

Has a pint of ice cream “demonized” you at the grocery store, then realize that while that creamy goodness is like heaven on your lips it’s hell on your hips?

Ever ordered a large double cheese pizza with everything on it and ate the whole pie all by your lonesome?

Ever had a hunger level of 1, but ate like you had a hunger level of 10, then looked at the scale and said to yourself where did those extra 10 pounds come from?

If you answered YES (I know I have) to any of the above, then you suffer from Unconscious Eating Syndrome. It seems that most people in “well-developed” countries suffer from this affliction. Self-control becomes dormant when we see fatty delicious food and our minds zone out while our lips zone into eating. As a result, many of us have become “over-developed” as well. What to do?

Next time you see “deliciously bad food” ask yourself if you really need it or do you just REALLY WANT IT. Actually, that question is something we should all ask ourselves in various “compromising situations.” It’s like a guy or gal “hooking up with a MISTAKE.” They should have just asked themselves if they really needed it or did they just really wanted it. Wait … I just went off on a tangent … I was talking about food NOT SEX!

Oh well, in the end it’s all about the excess of appetite … many could do with a little self-control–especially ME.

“Everyone admits that self-control is mastery over pleasures and desires …”      Plato

Get the CCC Badge

Join the Crazy Chicks Club

Join the Crazy Freaks Club

Join the B.A.D Club

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

32 Responses to Unconscious Eating

  1. aeliusblythe says:

    My approach is completely the opposite. Screw self control! I just stuff my face with GOOD food! :D Hard to binge when you’re stuffed….

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Yeah good food is best. I just ate a whole avocado choco mousse–dairy free and sugar free. This was my pre-lunch snack … :)

      • aeliusblythe says:

        Ah you’re making me hungry! Avocado is the best. Sadly, expensive. But good AND good for you!

        I also noticed going sugar free was super easy when you eat tons of fruit. Gets the taste buds re-acclimated to natural sweetness and less dependent on the unnatural, added supersugery-ness we’ve gotten used to.

        And now to go discover dinner….

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          I buy them when they’re on sale. I was able to buy two humongous avocados for $3! I haven’t used white sugar, but I did buy coconut palm sugar (it’s a one to one subs for white sugar) when I bake.

  2. A pint of ice cream ? I did not know they came in pints. Why would anyone buy a pint ?

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Yeah … I used to buy the Haagen Dazs coffee ice cream all the time. I used to eat it with the smallest spoon I could find, but I still gobbled up the whole thing in 20 mins … :(

  3. becca3416 says:

    I like that it can be applied to sex AND food ;).

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I do too Becca! You are a crazy chick … :) You should join my club :)

      • becca3416 says:

        I like clubs. Might just have to do that!

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          Please do … you would be a wonderful addition to the craziness. Just leave a comment saying you want to join and I’ll include your name and link :)

          • becca3416 says:

            Thanks!

  4. What a devilishly delicious post. I ate up everything you said. I was about to eat a sandwhich, but now I’m looking at it like it stole my money. This has been very educational hon’.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks :) The thing about trying to eat healthy is that one has to do a HELLA LOT OF COOKING! Or preparing meals and juicing. I’m in the kitchen ALOT and I’ve got the dishpan hands to prove it :)

  5. This happens to me with potato chips and cottage cheese which is probably my favorite snack. I don’t eat it very often, and it’s because, when I do, I end up eating a whole bag of potato chips without realizing it.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Potato Chips with cottage cheese? OMG that actually sounds good and deadly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • The best, seriously. Have 4% fat cottage cheese (large curd) and kettle chips. HOLY SHIZBUCKETS.

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          I haven’t had chips in eons, but I LOVE THE KETTLE CHIPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. I get this with coffee… I have one… then think ‘just another’, and then three coffees later I fill ill and jittery. Why is one not enough?

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      One is never enough … unfortunately. I used to have 3 venti caramel machiattos (sometimes with an extra shot) a day when I went back to college. It was an expensive habit.

  7. renxkyoko says:

    teramisu , double chocolate with whipped cream icing, and cheesecake. Nooooo ! They were all in the fridge, and everyday iI’d get a slice, Before I knew it, all the cakes were gone, then I realized I was the only one who had eaten the whole darn things. Oh, the horror ! ( I’m still size o )

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Oh Ren I read this and said deja vu … deja vu! I’m glad you’re still a size zero … hurray for fast metabolism!!!! :)

  8. Unconscious living isn’t good for you. I’ve driven home and couldn’t remember how I got there. Now that’s scary. Almost as scary as wondering how I got to the bottom bag of veggie chips and my show is only half done… ;)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      OMG Lorna I’ve done the same thing! I zoned out in the car and when I came to I was on my drive way. I’m glad I’m not the only one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Mathair says I have an inappropriate relationship with food and it’s completely true. If I’m not eating, I’m watching the Food Network. I just can’t find anything better in the world than stuffing one’s face. My fave’s tend to run toward the tropical variety, but I’m not biased. I welcome all. Must leave now, have to raide the fridge.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I LOOOOOOOVE food as well! This is why I realized that I had to really learn to love healthier food. I still have a sweet tooth, which is why I learned to make vegan chocolate cupcakes. There’s still fat, but I use avocado instead of butter and I add in 1/4 of flaxseeds for fiber. It’s delicious and even though I still indulge it’s less harmful than a pint of Haagen Dazs … and I still love Food Network. My fave is the Barefoot Contessa …

  10. Phil says:

    I’m not much of a snack food guy, but Ice-Cream? Oh my. I remember when I was young, living in NYC at the time. There was a Sedutto Ice-Cream parlor just round from my apartment. I remember many an evening where I would just skip dinner and pick up a hand packed quart of Vanilla Bean & Carmel Swirl, with Godiva Chocolate covered Macadamia nuts on my way home. Damn, I can still taste it in my mouth now, years later. Good thing I moved out of the city…

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      OMG Phil … this line ” a hand packed quart of Vanilla Bean & Carmel Swirl, with Godiva Chocolate covered Macadamia nuts” sounds sooooo SEXY!!!! Thanks for stopping by and always leaving a comment that I can salivate on …. :)

  11. frigginloon says:

    “Unconscious Eating Syndrome” ? Ah uh, I’m fully conscious of what I am eating. The only reason why I scoff down the entire tub of Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream tub is so I can start my diet tomorrow. Can’t leave all those temptations around. I think the real problem is the “unconscious shopping Syndrome” where I forget about the diet the next day and stock up on ice cream again ..thus the vicious cycle begins again.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I just love your spin on the whole “unconscious” things :) I always love your comments. So glad you stopped by … have I told you – YOU ARE FRIGGIN HILARIOUS?

  12. What is it about ice cream??? I’m drawn to it like a moth to light. There must be a drug in it. In the future, it will be all over the news … “Today, the Food and Drug Administration tested ice cream. Drug chemicals were detected.” Damn those FDA people. haha

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      There is a drug in ice cream called “Yummiholicihitus” that triggers our noodle to keep wanting more even if our hips are begging our mouth to just surrender and shut it!

      • hahaha … love the chemical …. haha

Talk to me :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 575 other followers

