The Art of Aging Gracefully

Rotting Aging isn’t a bad thing. There are perks in getting older such as wisdom, AARP membership and young folks believing what you say because they think you’ve been there and done that. Getting older isn’t a negative thing at all. So it’s important to age with grace. Here’s how:

10 tips to aging gracefully:

  1. If you’re going to lie about your age, make sure you look the age you claim to be.
  2. Be sexy not slutty. There’s nothing worse than watching a mature woman act like a “ho” past her prime.
  3. It’s about quality not quantity. One awesome candle on your birthday cake is better than creating a fire hazard.
  4. Don’t go broke on anti-aging products. They really don’t work; if they did then plastic surgeons would be out of business.
  5. Don’t dress like a tween if you grew up using the words keen or groovy.
  6. Look beyond the wrinkles, the age spots and the grays. Now is the time to look at inner beauty. If you’re a terrible person, then sorry Chick … I can’t help you.
  7. Be young at heart, old in wisdom and a sex fiend at any age.
  8. Don’t embarrass your kids by trying to be hip. There’s nothing worse than a parent trying to bond with kids by acting like a kid.
  9. Don’t recapture your old glory days. Create your glory day today … everyday
  10. Tell your stress to go to hell.

How do you age gracefully?

Join the Crazy Chicks Club.

Click here if you’re a Crazy Freak.

Visit my fan page on Facebook.

© 2014 Lafemmeroar


About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

20 Responses to The Art of Aging Gracefully

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    I don’t think about age all that much. It thinks of me when I sit in an awkward position and have to move in slow motion to get up. It forces me to take naps, talk about what I ate throughout the day or maybe when I see somebody older who I could possibly look like down the road. It’s all good though. Just keep smiling and living is how I look at age, for the most part.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Smiles and laughter are the best anti-aging secrets. Everyone has the ability to do it and it’s free. It just takes the right attitude.

  2. Coming from someone who is turning 60 in May, the good things about getting older outweigh the bad. The best part is watching my kids raising their own kids and realizing that at some point I must have done something right. The worst part of getting older? Gravity.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      60??? You look MARVELOUS!!!!!

  3. I love this!! I don’t lie about my age, though. I just accept others’ assumptions about my age : ) (This is Latanya by the way)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You look great (at any age) and I have a feeling that you are blessed with genes that will remain perpetually young! :)

  4. Dang, suddenly single and now you tell me.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Sorry my timing is off… Valentine :)

  5. Hell yeah Lafemme! Put into Crazy Chick terms! Luv this list and can relate to more than three! lmao~ funny enough #8 brought back memories of the movie: “Mean Girls” and Amy Poehler’s role as Mrs. George! lol Sharing this now ;) <3

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      On you chicks are spoiling me! Thank you so much for your support. You chick ROCK!!!

  6. Patti Hall says:

    My new not-time-for-a-bucket-list-yet! list. Every point is perfect and I will try to stop rapping with my adult children now…I thought they were looking at me strangely. Now I know why. Thanks,
    P

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You’re welcome Patti… I try to say a bit of the truth via chuckles. I’m glad you liked the post :)

  7. Someone once said about women aging gracefully, “The older you are, the more expensive your casual clothes have to be.” I’d simply add. “Look at the rear view in the mirror before you go out in those shorts.”
    Gotta love that # 9 and #10!
    Nicely done!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Yes, I opt for natural fibers vs. poly … unless I’m wearing my skinny pants, then it’s a blend.

  8. My secret is to avoid mirrors, and not pay any attention to it. as long as you can dance badly life is rewarding in my book

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I love your attitude Peter :)

  9. Eric says:

    I age gracefully by remembering where I am, where I want to be, and where I have already taken the time machine on my trip back to the future…

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You are optimistic :) good attitude….

  10. themofman says:

    Very sharp! :D

    My wife and I took her parents out for dinner last night, and her father, in his 80’s, rushed ahead and fell on the sidewalk outside of the restaurant. Being on blood thinners, he bled quite a bit from small cuts on his finger tips. He was a trooper but the whole time I kept thinking about how his pride must have been hurt.

    When we brought them home, he apologized to me for falling, as though he had done something wrong. He’s an old man, these things tend to happen. I don’t want him to feel ashamed of himself, and he complains often about growing old. I prefer to see people growing old gracefully, and the restof us having a healthy respect for that experience that we’ll all go through if we live long enough.

    This post improves at least my spirits about it all. Thank you. Now I’m going to give my mother a call.

    http://hammerhomestreetphotography.wordpress.com/tag/age-before-beauty/

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Oh thank you very much. You father-in-law sounds like a terrific man! Your comment touched me … I think it’s because as our bodies age … we (at least for some) don’t lose what’s best in us. We might forget, but it’s always there. Thank you for visiting me. Your comment really made my morning. Happy 4th!

Talk to me :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

