Bread, Expansion and Cleaning

I love to eat! For the past couple of years, I’ve likened myself to bread dough. For you non-bakers out there, the process of making bread is simple. Mix flour, water, salt and yeast then knead and let rise. After rising you punch it down and let it rise again. And voila it’s ready for the oven. The chemistry of flour and water reacting to the yeast is pretty much how my body reacts to food: expansion upon contact.

As the years go by that yeast is becoming more effective. And while I do embrace my “volumptuousness,” I don’t want to let myself go to the point that they’d have to un-hinge the doors before I can get out of the house. I want to maintain my “Rubenesquiness.” So every once in a while I do need a punch-down, which means exercise. Since I hate any type of body movement that requires me to count up to eight and repeat again I’ve come up with an alternative: house cleaning.

It’s amazing how much one can sweat while vacuuming, dusting and moping (oops I meant mopping). Add to that a thorough rub down of the bathroom and kitchen and you’ve got yourself a whole cardio workout. Plus, you’ve got a spic and span dwelling. I felt so good that I rewarded myself with a pan full of Texas Toast from Sara Lee.

Happy eating and cleaning,

Lafemmeroar

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

4 Responses to Bread, Expansion and Cleaning

  1. Tinkerbelle says:

    totally agree with this i hate the gym but often get my sweat on to dolly parton while hoovering the lounge. productive!! 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      ooh and housework in the gold ol’ summertime with the air con off will have me sweating like a pig hovering over the fire pit … thanks for visiting and reading 🙂 I’m thinking Dolly Parton’s “9 to 5” would be a good tune …

  2. mzuritam says:

    Your article hits home with me! I love your reference to the art world, using Rubens in describing yourself. I tweeted the article. Thank you!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Aw thanks. This is one of my first articles and really one of my favorites because I looooooooove baking bread. If you ever want to chat about yeast and flour hit me up I might have some tips for you.. loll

Talk to me :)

