I Love the 80s

The Rapture didn’t happen and it’s Sunday. A time to reflect on the week past and to anticipate the dreaded week ahead. Instead of ruminating on these practical matters, my mind wandered elsewhere. I thought about my youth. I thought about the 80s: the clothes, the hair and my past loves. I can’t think about these things without thinking of these songs:

Who could forget the jeans, the cap and that ass before the red and white stripes of the American flag. “Born in the USA” was the album of the decade and I loved “Dancing in the Dark.”

I love her for being who she is: beautiful, unique and funky. I even had the asymmetrical haircut (thankfully my hair grows fast). When “Girls Want to Have Fun” came on the radio, I just had to call my friends for some play time. We got a little bad, but then again we were young, silly and happy.

I haven’t been a “Slave to Love” in a long time, but I do want to experience that again because where there is love there is happiness. There is also the pain, but I’m willing to risk that. If you know the lyrics to this Brian Ferry song, know that I’m no longer waiting in the usual place. I’m waiting for love in my realm of reality, a realm that I’m still trying to understand, but I know it’s mine.

Happy Sunday,

Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

4 Responses to I Love the 80s

  1. Mindless Rambler says:

    I am still stuck in the 80’s with a lot of music, fortunately my greatest loves – New Order and Depeche Mode have travelled the decades with me since!

  2. lafemmeroar says:

    I saw Depeche Mode twice. Loved them too. I have some of their songs in my playlist. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Patti Kuche says:

    Yazoo and Eurythmics any one?

    • lafemmeroar says:

      Sweet dreams are made of this
      Who am I to disagree?
      Travel the world and the seven seas
      Everybody’s looking for something
      Some of them want to use you
      Some of them want to get used by you
      Some of them want to abuse you
      Some of them want to be abused
      (looking for love in all the wrong places … had to add that in ,but that’s a country tune I think)

      ***
      Yaz “Don’t Go” omg I feel like dancing… ok memories happening now thanks Patti

Talk to me :)

