The Crying Adulterer

I once knew this man, a good family friend and a known philanderer, who compartmentalized his life so successfully that despite his “sextracurricular” activities, his marriage remained peaceful. There were no rumors of problems or fights and when I saw him with his wife they always seemed very content. And when I saw him with his mistress du jour, he seemed very content.

For their 25th anniversary, the couple decided to renew their vows. The philanderer cried when he recited his pledges of loyalty, devotion and love. He became so emotional that he had to stop numerous times to wipe away the tears. Was this an act? Could an insurance salesman easily summon up such waterworks? I looked around for reactions. Some were touched and some were surprised. I was confused.

What was he really crying about? Were they tears of joy or tears of regret? I spoke with his wife at the reception and complemented her for organizing such a beautiful party. She said that it was all her husband’s doing including writing both their vows.

Now, I was even more confused. Was this philanderer actually a romantic? Then I realized that men who cheat must be “hopeless romantics.” Was it the need to constantly experience the rush of romance that drives them to pursue other women? Did they equate lust for romance? Moreover, was his wife oblivious, in denial or indifferent to his cheating? I had so many questions and thoughts, but no answers. What I did see was that they were still married and celebrating.

Then the philanderer came up to me and said you need to get married young lady (this was years ago). You can have it all just like me he said with his arms spread wide in pride. Then he saw a woman standing by the entrance. He excused himself, walked toward her and he was gone. He came back an hour later. He and his wife celebrated and danced and laughed. I didn’t see the other woman again. Maybe she was tucked away somewhere in a compartment labelled “Use only when needed.”

Happy Wednesday everybody,

Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

24 Responses to The Crying Adulterer

  1. nobusysignal says:

    Wow!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks for stopping by and reading :))

  2. sayali611 says:

    I guess, like the man said about Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s – “She is a fake, but she is a real fake. Because she doesn’t know that she is a fake.”
    What a fake this man is!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      That’s what I think too, but I just don’t know. Men crying in public is not something I see all the time and when I saw this years ago, I never forgot it. I think it’s because I knew I’d write about it some day, but I certainly don’t have any answers. I like that movie quote and my fav movie … Thanks for stopping by.Stay tuned … tomorrow is Woman of the Week. 🙂

    • Shonnie says:

      Totally agree! How could she not know?

      • Lafemmeroar says:

        I’ve never told and I’ve never asked. I guess it’s the silent language of marriage.

      • Shonnie says:

        Lafe …. the silent language of their marriage. My hubby would lose a prize member or other body parts for sharing … I’m just sayin’.

  3. Debby says:

    Interesting and as you say, confusing. People are definitely complex.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      We never know what goes on in the minds of others. Sometimes I don’t know what goes on in my mind …. thanks for reading :))

  4. versa kay says:

    There is a saying in Telugu which goes,” Never believe a man who cries or A woman who guffaws.”

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I had to google Telugu …. and now I’ve just learned something new thanks to you. I think the main reason I write this blog is because I have so many more questions than answers. And when people comment it gives me another perspective and it makes me go hmmmm … I do have an issue with men crying in public (I don’t if it’s because of death or tragedy) and maybe my issue is that I feel they can’t be trusted? Hmmmm need to ruminate that …

  5. Patti Kuche says:

    Another great post! His funeral should be interesting. A friend and I often joke about all the strange women who might turn up to her husband’s funeral. She has them sorted already (although she is not sure of the numbers) . . . “over there, dear, with all the rest.”

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lolol …. the funeral guests will be categorized. I can picture it now … 🙂

  6. Claire says:

    That’s unbelievable, I don’t know how anyone could live like that.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      That’s why I’m still single. But I really need to learn more about how men can compartmentalize. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. Shonnie says:

    Totally NOT my cup of tea … a crying man who cheats. I find it hard to believe that she didn’t know. She must have gotten something out of that–I have a friend who pays for her hubby to go to Titty bars–Not this chick. 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      OMG, she pays her husband to go there? Does she pay for lap dances as well? 🙂 As for me, my main ambition in life is to be in a healthy, monogamous and fulfilling relationship.

      • Shonnie says:

        yep … she gives it to him as a gift for things.

        That is what I have, a healthy, monogamous relationship–which is beyond fulfilling–so I understand your feelings completely. It grossed me out so bad I never asked her any further details. Sadly, we don’t hang out as much. I feel bad but I just couldn’t get past that. I know she didn’t like sex, so I am betting she is paying for the works. Blows my mind.

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          lol on “paying for the works” so she doesn’t have to do the work … reality is priceless isn’t it?

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          BTW. Thanks for subscribing.

  8. I wonder about marriages like this. You see it in “celebrities”. I often wonder how Hillary Clinton could stay married after such a public humiliation. What are both parties thinking? How is it these marriages survive? Good post, makes me think.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Marriage is a social contract … and what does the post make you think about?

  9. This is great! If I had a dime for every adulterer, whether a man or a woman, I’d be a very rich woman right now! They all do the same thing, and you are right to say that they are addicted to this “new” spontaneous feeling of a different person. They need the drama, and the attention. I can’t believe that as a woman, his wife has no clue. I am pretty sure she knows. We women all know when something ain’t right 🙂 But that may be the life they both chose, and if they are happy, then who are we to judge? I wrote an article about this subject a little while ago, and you should read some of the comments I got from men and women! In this day and age, people are open to relationships outside of the marriage, because not everyone can be monogamous but still want a family. It may not be right for everyone, but it works for some. Maybe this guy and his wife have an agreement… Would be interesting if you could ask them that…

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lol. We’d both be rich! I’ll read your article … heading on over to your place now 🙂

Talk to me :)

