My Favorite Movie Moments

During the “be kind rewind” days of the 80s and 90s I had to press rewind and hope that I stopped the video at the right time to replay my favorite movie scene (what a pain). DVD made it easier because all I had to do was skip to a scene. Today, I just do a keyword search on You Tube and voilà … here are some of my favorite movie moments.

When “A Christmas Story” came out who knew that it would become a cult classic. This scene is one of the reasons why:

Today, we’re used to seeing the flying acrobatics made famous in Hong Kong cinema, but when I first saw this scene I thought I want to do that (in my dreams of course). The fight scene in “Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon” shows how two bad ass chicks can kick some bootie. Director Ang Lee is a master! And Michelle Yeoh freakin’ ROCKS.

Loved the series. I didn’t care for the movie except for his karaoke scene from “Sex and the City 2.”

f

I am Lafemme … hear me … Roar.

Happy Memorial Day everyone

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

17 Responses to My Favorite Movie Moments

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I have to totally agree with you about sex in the city and the song “I am Women” it was done brilliantly.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank you! That scene makes me want to go to a karaoke bar and belt out that song …

  2. Cayman Thorn says:

    Youtube means never having to say “what the hell did (so and so) say in that scene from (so and so)? ”

    And I love “Crouching Tiger”. It makes me all kitschy for another family reunion.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You Tube and a basic key phrase search 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and taking a peek at the clips …

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog! I love movies, too! Did you see my recent post on “Perfet Casting?” Add your comments/opinions to the disussion there!

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/perfect-casting/

    I’ll be back!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks for stopping by and I’ll definitely have a look 🙂

  4. Nina says:

    I love the last clip!
    I just found one of my favorite scenes on youtube. The movie is lovely but this scene never fails to make me smile.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks for posting this clip. The way they looked at each other is sweet. Their gazes were perfectly timed. I did like this movie and preferred it to the sequel. But the last scene in the sequel (the one where she’s dancing and he knows he’s going to miss his flight is my favorite scene in the movie), is one of my faves because it sort of leaves the movie open ended. I’m thinking that I should do a posting on movies I like but I’m afraid to admit that I like them.

      • Nina says:

        I like this one much more compared to the sequel.
        Both of them have open endings. What you like to believe happened after shows you if you’re a pessimist or an optimist or at least makes you think a lot on your opinion of love and chance occurrences.
        That post should be really interesting. Everyone has plenty of those.

  5. Mindless Rambler says:

    I love You Tube just to prove to my children that TV adverts were so much better in the 80’s, they all seemed to have more of a joyous jingle that we caught onto than what they do now. They just roll their eyes when I start although have reluctantly admitted on the odd occasion that I am right. 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I remember the Slinky jingle and the Baby Alive (soft and sweet … she can drink she can eat). In retrospect the Baby Alive jingle wasn’t joyous but kind of creepy. You’re right though, kids today need to know about past pop culture. Just think of it this way someday their kids will be rolling their eyes to jingles of Meow Mix and Subway 5 dollar foot long.

  6. hollyjb says:

    YouTube does make searching for scenes easier. I remember the first time I heard about YouTube. I was sitting in my 2nd year musical skills class and the teacher told us we should check out this video (which I don’t think I did, b/c I didn’t know what YouTube was at the time) YouTube. That would have been, oh, 2006. The first movie on DVD I ever say was Tarzan. My Youth Leader at church had a DVD player (he was also up on the latest technology) and brought it one night. It was quite the novel concept for me. Now we don’t even have a VCR at our house!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I love You Tube. I’ve learned how to do so many things from watching those videos. I do have a favorite cooking channel there called “Cooking with Dog.” This awesome Japanese woman cooks and her dog sits on the counter (or is it by the stove). Don’t know if you’re into cooking, but she cooks some awesome dishes. BTW, did you see the Tarzan with Bo Derek (dating myself) or the Tarzan with Casper Van Diem?

      • hollyjb says:

        I need to do more cooking, maybe I should check it out. I have to admit it was actually Disney’s Tarzan :s, lol. I haven’t seen those other one’s.

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          lmao big time! I was going to add Disney’s Tarzan, but didn’t. Oh well, youth is sooooooo sweet! I love it. Btw, don’t bother to see the two I mentioned (thumbs down). But check out the Cooking with Dog on You Tube. But also check out OVGuide. They have a bunch of cooking sites listed. Thanks for the visit 🙂

  7. I, too, agree with you about the SATC movie. The second one was borderline appalling. It just didn’t seem like it fit with any of the characters. LOOOVE “I am Woman” and loved that scene, though!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I know the sequel didn’t fit with the characters. I do have to say that I think Miranda’s character (although not my favorite) showed the most growth in the series and in the movies.

Talk to me :)

