Redemption (A poem)

Redemption

Forgive me my love

For I have sinned

Your patience is steadfast

Compared to my weakened grasp

Your strength I rely on

For I am wanton

Forgive me my love

For I have lied

My mouth regurgitates

Words from an awful state

Of mind and resolve

Your truth I need to hear

For my mind is not exactly clear

Forgive me my love

For I have betrayed

Everything you stand for

Now I admit

That I am full of guilt

This confession alleviates my burden

And frees me from my inward darkness

That I have painfully built

Forgive me my love

I am not worthy of you

All my imperfections

Have caused you pain

Yet, you do not complain

Now I will be strong

And say that I don’t belong with you

Forgive me my love

I will set you free

And in time you will see

My generous act

For I no longer want you to be

The victim of my sadomasochistic intentions                                                                                                                                                        

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

8 Responses to Redemption (A poem)

  1. supernaut says:

    what can I say?

    If I were in such a situation, I am not sure whether I could be so brave myself…

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Your take on the poem is very interesting … 🙂

  2. Beautiful poem!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank you!

  3. Vimal says:

    🙂
    honest. nice.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank you.

  4. ericmvogt says:

    Liked it up to the last line, which a romantic like myself would have written thus:

    The victim of my best of intentions. 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Oh that’s actually a better ending … see you are a natural … I’m not 😦

Talk to me :)

