My Favorite TV Dads

My dad, in his humanity, is a flawed man. But he is the only man who has never let me down and he is the only man who I’ve ever truly trusted.

Now let’s get on with the show. In honor of Father’s Day here are clips of my favorite TV dads. Dear readers, I urge you not to miss the last video as it is one of the funniest scenes I’ve ever seen.

I watched “The Andy Griffith Show” every day as a kid and I especially loved the relationship between Andy and his son Opie.  Watch and see if you can identify the little boy in this scene.

Watch this clip of “The Cosby Show” as Heathcliff Huxtable tries to get his daughter Rudy to eat her veggies. 

“Everybody Loves Raymond” because the whole Barone clan is so funny. Take a look at this clip that gives new meaning to a man “marking his territory.”

My favorite cantankerous dad, Red Forman talks about love in “That 70’s Show.” 

I saved the best for last. “All in the Family” revolutionized television by talking about controversial issues. Carroll O’ Connor as the ignorant, but lovable Archie Bunker is my favorite TV dad because despite his flaws (and there were many) he had a lot of love for his “ding bat” wife Edith and his “little girl” Gloria. This hilarious clip shows a confused Archie and how he just can’t seem to get ahead. 

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

26 Responses to My Favorite TV Dads

  1. Man, ur churning out posts faster than we can read!

    good going

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks 🙂 I love this post because it brings back soooooo many memories. I eventually want to do a tribute posting on “All in the Family.” I love that show.

    • mysterycoach says:

      I’m turning off my computer and this message came through… This is great! What a great trip down memory lane.

      I love RED! ROFL! He is so funny! Excellent job!

      • mysterycoach says:

        Is this your time zone? Because by me it’s not 11 it’s 2:00 … interesting!

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          Yeah it is 🙂

  2. u gta love Raymond’s dad
    the actor died last year
    I was watching Taxi driver after a long time and recognized him as one of supporting cast

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Peter Boyle is great. Did you see him in the X-Files episode? That episode still freaks me out.

  3. hawleywood40 says:

    These guys are the heart and soul of Dadhood – great Father’s Day post!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I love the way you said “heart and soul of Dadhood.” Wish I came up with that line 🙂

  4. jsh0608 says:

    All of these were great!!! :0)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Glad you liked them 🙂

  5. marcialoyd says:

    Thanks for sharing these!!!

  6. I watch Andy so many times that I know most of all the dialoge……drives my wife crazy cuz I’ll say the line half a second before the show….but you’re right…Andy and Opie (the black-n-white episodes) were wonderful….Barney just made things crazy….

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I did prefer the black and white episodes with Andy and Opie (he was so cute and cuddly) …. and I always laughed sooooo hard every time Barney fumbled with his gun.

  7. can’t put my finger on tht episode
    but I’m a huge X-files fan

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Peter Boyle plays a psychic and Mulder and Scully are looking for a serial killer … creepy.

  8. Patti Kuche says:

    Hope your father enjoyed his day, flaws and all!

    Opie always makes me want to cry, the way he looks up at his Paw with those little eyes of his. He and the Beaver were the cutest kids on TV, both with great Dads – I have always had a crush on Ward Cleaver. Don’t let the suit fool you!
    The Dad who never did a thing for me was Mike Brady, or any of those hapless Derwents / Darrens on Bewitched. Doesn’t Red Forman take you right back? Right back to the back of a good old man cave, when men were men?

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I had a crush on Wally.Oh, Red is what I call a marshmallow man. He’s tough on the outside, but I think he’s a true softy inside. All good guys are. I love your comments btw because yes … everything you said (not just about Red) reminds me of the good old days 🙂

  9. madtante says:

    It’s very cool that you had a good dad.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      He is good. we took him out for Father’s Day yesterday and if was super fun. 🙂

  10. Ruth D. says:

    Hopefully this is your first blog award! I feel honored to pass it on to you! 😉
    check it out: http://ruthbloem.wordpress.com/2011/06/21/my-first-blog-award/

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      It is my first blog award!!! 🙂 So honored …. I’ll pass it on

  11. Tilly Bud says:

    I can’t watch these right now because the Dad in my house is watching football with one of the sons, but I’m coming back to it. I remember that Cosby scene. Hilarious 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Come back anytime. We’re open 24/7 🙂

  12. kiwidutch says:

    I’ve never seen any of these clips, so enjoyed them all…the Archie Bunker one was BRILLIANT!!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      “All in the Family” was a breakthrough show or its time. I’m so glad you enjoyed them 🙂

Talk to me :)

