I Love this Sweet Transvestite

If you’ve read my latest short story “Man from Malutopia–A Story of Genital Proportions” then perhaps you’ve read some of the comments from my dear readers and what inspired this story–gender neutrality and gender bending. I’ve had a strange fascination about this subject for years and it started when I first saw “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” in my sophomore year of high school.

The musical is about a pair of newlyweds who find themselves stranded in the rain. They find shelter in a “queer” castle owned by a transvestite scientist named Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Tim Curry) who’s got a bunch of oddball guests helping him celebrate his newest creation–a blonde and tanned boy toy named Rocky. Although panned by critics, the movie developed a cult following. The phenomenon began in New York City as droves watched midnight showings and participated in acting out scenes from the movie. This is where my story comes in:

I used to sneak out at night through my bedroom window to catch the midnight show. A group of us, armed with balloons, toilet paper, squirt guns, rice and other accoutrements, drove to this local theater and partied it up as we shouted obscenities, danced around, and threw things at the screen and each other.

While my friends drooled over Rocky, I secretly drooled over Dr. Frank-N-Furter, but I hid my lust. Perhaps it was the way he swaggered in his platforms, the tattoo on his arm, his sexy dark mass of curls, his luscious red lips or his seductive voice–I don’t know. I do know that Rocky did nothing for me, but Dr. Frank-N-Furter sparkled my loins.

Was I gay? Was I straight? Was I confused? Many years later and many boyfriends later it was confirmed that I bent straight, but Dr. Frank-N-Furter still popped up in my fantasies. Today, I’ve learned to accept the man behind the drag, because I do so love this sweet transvestite. Here’s a video of my favorite scene in the movie:

What do you think?

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

12 Responses to I Love this Sweet Transvestite

  1. kiwikar says:

    Yarr! That video almost made me drool a little. I think it’s the grin and the voice that make him incredibly hot. And also that’s a really impressive first appearance.

    I love the movie, I own the DVD and I fully understand your feelings even though I don’t understand them myself as I don’t think I’d like to have that man in my bed :D.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Ah thank you! I was worried that I was the only one! :)
      I remember we’d throw rice in the wedding scene, use the squirt guns during the rain scene and blow up balloons and rub them together when Janet sang “Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch Me” … I used to always think about the poor sap that had to clean up the theatre afterwards.

      • kiwikar says:

        Oh dear! ^^

        But yes! You are not the only one! There are at least two of us!

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          Here’s hoping we can add a third … :)

  2. timethief says:

    Love it! Have had such times watching over and over and dancing too. :)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Yay! Another fan :)

  3. Rocky Horror is one of my all-time favorite movies. I can’t say that I ever felt anything for Frank-N-Furter, but the guy who introduced me to the movie (and my boyfriend) was ALL about him. He was always adamant about being “straight,” but could not deny that he was in looooove with Tim Curry in drag. Women, we are not alone! :)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Glad to know that. I’m glad Rocky Horror hasn’t lost its place in popular culture.

  4. Patti Kuche says:

    Rocky who? I always thought Frank was the Horror who Rocked, who to me, was channeling his inner Freddie Mercury!

    As for Peter Hinwood, who did indeed play the part of Rocky, he has the most fabulous flat in London which I drool over constantly.

    http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/painting-fixing-repair/milk-paint-in-peter-hinwoods-home-world-of-interiors-908-060782

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You know, Freddie Mercury interested me as well … hmmm … I think I need to look closer into my Inner Freak. What do you think?

  5. hollyjb says:

    I’ve only actually seen the movie once (so what to I know really), but I thought Brad and Janet were just engaged, that they had been to a friend’s wedding?

    I first saw the movie last December, but I’ve known about the show for a few years. The Musical Theatre club at my university would have an event where they’d go as a group, all dressed up, to see it, but I never managed to get there. I think I would like to someday.

    I love how in the Glee Rocky Horror episode they actually have Meatloaf and the guy who played Brad acting. Of course, they are trying to screw over the Glee Club, but still. I didn’t realize it at first, but upon a 2nd viewing I caught it.

    I don’t really have leanings either way with this. I haven’t seen it enough to fully appreciate the genius of it. I was too busy thinking about how odd it is while watching it, lol. But I liked it enough to want to watch it again!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I need to see that Glee episode. In high school I knew people who’d seen it dozens of times.

Talk to me :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 541 other followers

