Cheap Halloween Costume Ideas

Are you going to a Halloween costume party?

If you’re low on cash, but you still want to WOW your friends with an awesome costume, then take inspiration from these atrocious high-fashion ensembles. This post will show how you can have a unique costume and not spend a lot of dough:

If you’ve got a pair of black tights and a couple rolls of butcher paper, then you can go as a origami girl.

Origami Chick

Do you have an old bed sheet? Then go as the mystery femme in red–or just use any old bed sheet. All you need is a sheet and a couple of cardboards cut into shoulder pads. Just hang the sheet over your head (make sure you poke holes for the eyes and lips. You need to be able to see where yore going and drink all that free booze). This costume is perfect if you’re on the shy side. No one will know it’s you unless you tell them.  

Hello there

Have you recently lost a lot of weight (like say a 100 pounds or so) and you just don’t know what to do with that coat that is just too big for you now? Then you can go as this fashionably eccentric bag lady. Put that coat on and you’ll look like the queen of skid row.

Here’s a costume that gets a 100% in the cutesy rating. Go as tinker belle. All you need is a pair of yellow tights (oh come on–you must have a pair stashed from your 80′s wardrobe) and a tattered 3/4 sleeve nightshirt. Use an old tie or scarf to cinch it around the waist and you can get the feather at your local craft store.

Wanna combine the old with the new? Then go as a space age goddess. For this look, all you need is a 33 gallon plastic trash bag. Cut three holes for your head and arms and you’ve got an instant costume. 

If you are totally broke and you don’t have anything in your wardrobe then this next tip won’t cost you a thing. Be Eve before the fall and just go in your birthday suit. You won’t even need a fig leaf.

Wikimedia Commons--PD-US

Nominated for Best Humor Blog at Bloggers Choice Awards. Please vote :)

Join the Crazy Chicks Club.

Click here if you’re a Crazy Freak.

Visit my fan page on Facebook.

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

41 Responses to Cheap Halloween Costume Ideas

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    I’d go for Origami Girl. I don’t think I could sit or make close contact with folks wearing it but she looks chic.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I think so too. I’ve definitely got the butcher paper :)

  2. I found a pizza delivery man shirt at the thrift shop(won’t reveal from where, certainly not for free advertising). I should be a real hit everywhere I go. Except when they find out I don’t have any pizza. Perhaps I will hand out garlic to protect everyone from the vampires !

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Maybe you should wear a necklace of garlic as well :)

    • hollyjb says:

      Oh, but everyone knows that vampires aren’t afraid of garlic anymore. That was so 2 millenia ago :P.

  3. jules says:

    HA! I love the origami girl one!

    Jules
    http://andsuddenlyisee.wordpress.com

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      That one seems to be the most popular so far :)

  4. hollyjb says:

    If I was a stick I’d go as Tinker Belle. I used to do the garbage bag trick at work to stay dry while doing spray wash (ie all the greasy McDonald’s dishes)….it worked real well. Except those bags are clear and I’m not sure I could pull that off without my uniform :D.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lol Holly. You need to wear your undies then :)

      • hollyjb says:

        How could I have not thought of that. I think what I’d really need is an invisibility cloak :P.

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          lol Holly. I’d like one of those sometimes …

  5. Phil says:

    I’m thinking the Red Pullover dress is perfect for Butterfaces. Now the Origami thing – wow. Someone actually designed that thing? And that Bag-Lady chick? I think I’ve finally found who stole my bowling shoes at long last!

    I gotta get me a job in the fashion industry…

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lol Phil … it’s a bizarre world :) What’s a Butterface?

      • Phil says:

        Oh my! I actually know something in pop culture that you don’t? You need to get out more, Laf. That, or maybe have some children that are young adults.

        OK, from the Urban Dictionary:

        Butterface: A girl with an exceptionally hot body but an exceptionally ugly face.

        Sure hope I don’t piss off the gazillion women that read your blog! {gulp}

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          Obviously I’ve been consorting with the wrong crowd. lol We just call those kind of chicks PBFs (Paper Bag Face)

          Example: Check out that PBF over there. I sure would like to get her in the dark (hence no need for the bag).

          • Phil says:

            I know that term! We also would index that as a one-bag or two-bag ugly. Two-bag ugly would mean you use the second bag for your own head, just in case your partner’s fell off… Yes Laf, I’m sure I’m endearing myself to all your followers right about now. :O

            • Lafemmeroar says:

              Oh I bet they’re chuckling right now :) i know I am …

          • Or my favorite: Coyote ugly! And PBFs in my day were known as 2 bagers, That’s when you make her wear a bag and you also wear a bag just in case hers comes off.

            • Lafemmeroar says:

              And the same will go for men :)

  6. Bodhirose says:

    Holey moley!! Can you believe that those are high fashion ideas that you butchered there?! What the heck are they thinking? “Red sheet girl” doesn’t even appear to have eye holes to peep through. But, yes, for Halloween–perfect!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      And people pay good money for those outfits too!

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Those outfits are unreal, I can’t believe people actually buy this stuff.
    Great ideas by the way. :)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks :) I think the fashion was weirder in the 80s though …

  8. Note to Origami girl ( and probably bag lady): stay away from jack-o-lanterns….unless the plan is to transition to burn victim? (Victims are sooo popular these days)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      LMAO!!!!

      So funny and true. This is your PSA for the day :)

  9. —Love Tinker Bell :)) So Sweet & Sexy.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I think so too. :)

  10. Oh hell no! where did you get a picture of my mama!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Be more specific Pete. Did you mean Queen of Skid Row Chick?

      • Birthday suit. Ha Ha I have so much fun reading your stuff!

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          That’s just the way my noodle rolls :)

  11. Aurora, HSP says:

    Hey! You missed mine! Pyjamas. That’s it. Cannot be bothered to dress for anything right now. Even Hallowe’en. LOL LOL But you just wait ’til November first… more on my blog later… :)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      eons ago I went as a 50s geek chick.

      I had a poodle skirt the sweater and cat glasses with rhinestones–the glasses were actually prescription!

  12. This is way I stay away from fashion trends and shop at my local Good Will store. These pictures and comments are rich! :) Too rich for my blood!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      @Lorna
      I do love the comments this post is getting especially from new readers. And you my dear Crazy Chick are an old reader that I truly luv :)

  13. Jason says:

    This was so helpful. I’m super low on cash right now so this has helped inspire me. My costume is all figured out! I’m going to wear twist ties as earrings! Ok, in just realizing now that I might need a little bit more than just the twist-toes.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You can just go in your birthday suit :) Oh make sure to take a pic. I’d like to see how that costume looks on you :P

  14. mooselicker says:

    Hahaha fashion is one thing I will never understand.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I certainly don’t understand these fashion statements. That’s why I thought they’d be good for Halloween :)

  15. Phil's Lounge says:

    Lol!
    My eldest daughter wants to have her own fashion label, I really do hope she produces lines, people can actually wear. :-)

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Depending on the market ready to wear is different from couture and these pieces were designed for editorial purposes. But the pics are great fodder for a post :)

Talk to me :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 541 other followers

