Crazy Chick Q & A #30

This week, meet Inion N. Mathair

Inion N. Mathair is Irish for daughter ‘n’ mother and is a pseudonym for our writing team. We started writing together five years ago and have completed three novels in that time. We are in the process of publishing The Perfect 7, the first in a YA fantasy fiction series about five teenage boys in a rock band that are thrust into a world of sex, drugs and rock and roll. And, are currently working on the second installment in the series, The Damask Persuasion.

Though our writing team is only five years old, both of us have been writing in one form or another most of our lives. Mathair wet her feet with poetry and editing while I took the journalistic route. It was our writing group that suggested we start writing together, given our short stories were eerily similar. Our blog came much later when we were advised by several of our friends and supporters to begin building a platform. The idea didn’t appeal to us at first, but we have to say that it’s been a sheer pleasure to have the caliber of friends we’ve been lucky enough to find. Case in point, the wonderfully crazy, beautifully genuine and heartfelt, Lafemme Roar and her Crazy Chick’s Club. We are proud members forever waving our banner high.

We could not believe the outpour of support from our peers that we had always been told we’re our competitors. For two women that have faced such odds and are continuously kicked down, it’s nice to see so many hands ready to help pick us up. And so, the irony is quite poetic. We begrudgingly started the blog as a career move, and ended up falling in love with the community within this crazy world.

1. Why are you a Crazy Chick?

Mathair: I’m a crazy chick because one has to be to survive in a man’s world.

Inion: I’m a crazy chick because that’s how my mother raised me to be.

2. Describe your blog in three words.

Both: Green, honest, passionate.

3. What is the title of your favorite post? Why?

Mathair: Blog Envy. Because it summed up our warped sense of humor and showed our quirky juxtaposition of rampant insecurity with a neurotic competitive streak.

Inion: Let’s Get Ready To Rumble: Battle One: Killing Characters is my favorite post, because it’s a constant thorn in mine and Mathair’s partnership as a writing duo. It was very cathartic as we both took the time to see each other’s point of view.

4. If you could eat one food item for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Mathair: Pickles. They’re such a dependable snack. They’re always sour and they never fail to make your face scrunch up… all without packing on calories.

Inion: I have a weird palate. For every sweet treat I put in my mouth, there has to be something salty to balance. So, my favorite thing in the world has to be salted caramel. Ice cream, candies, anything that has that combo is gold, but the salted caramel frappuccino from Starbucks is the queen.

5. Do you prefer to cook or eat out?

Mathair: Eat out. I’m always so dead tired after I’ve cooked that I can never really enjoy it.

Inion: Because of my inappropriate relationship with food. I find it more kosher to eat at home, given I make a complete idiot out of myself when I’m in public. There’s a lot of moaning and banging on the tale. Think: When Harry Met Sally.

6. Describe your fashion style.

Mathair: Prohibited. In my younger years, nothing suited me better than a snug pair of bongo jeans and graphic tees with a sturdy pair of hiking boots. Prohibited means I’d love to lose this weight again so that when I look in the mirror, I can see the girl that once did them justice.

Inion: Conservative yet sexy. Though most people find it restricting, I love pencil skirts, silk blouses, feminine pant suits with a hint of sexiness in it’s tailoring. I’m a sucker for thick-rimmed nerdy glasses as well.

7. Define the word sexy.

Mathair: Confidence. Nothing drives me crazier than a woman who refuses to hold her head high and can’t realize the goddess within herself. If you can’t appreciate yourself than at least be proud to be apart of the incredible species known as women. Although I fully respect and promote introspective thoughts, there’s a difference in that and someone that cannot cope in this world because they are their own worse enemy.

Inion: To me there is nothing sexier than a confident woman over 40. Helen Mirren, Meryl Streep, Diane Lane. Women are like wine, they only get sexier with age. I have yet to reach my peak, though Mathair is just beginning hers. I’m insanely jealous.

8. What’s your favorite: book, movie, music and television show?

Mathair:

Book: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S Lewis. It was the first time I had ever really escaped into a book’s world.

Movie: It used to be Sleeping With The Enemy, but as of 2012 it was replaced with Lawless. Love me some Tom Hardy!

Music: Anything from the grunge era, especially Nirvana.

Television Show: Seinfeld. Love his off the wall humor.

Inion:

Book: Anything done by Anne Rice, but if I had to pick, The Vampire Lestat.

Movie: Nightmare before Christmas. I love musicals and have been known to break out into song occasionally. I also love anything done by Tim Burton.

Music: I’m a true lover of anything classical. My favorite is Bach’s Cello Suite and I think Sara Brightman’s vocal chords are the gateway to heaven.

Television Show: True Blood. Can you tell I’m a vampire nut? I love the setting, the crazy plot twists and most of all, Lafayette.

9. What makes you mad?

Mathair: Bullying in any form enrages me.

Inion: Prejudice. I’ve always been very passionate about equal rights to all human beings and I’m appalled by any form of bigotry. I’ve even been known to call people to the carpet when it’s committed in my presence.

10. What makes you happy?

Mathair: My children.

Inion: My family.

11. What makes you sad?

Mathair: Wasted Talent

Inion: Seeing my family struggle.

12. What’s your favorite color?

Mathair: Red. I’m a Christmas nut so green usually follows.

Inion: Mathair says I’m a Plain Jane. I like to think I’m practical. I love antique white.

13. What are you most grateful for in this world?

Mathair: My kids.

Inion: My family.

14. What is the one achievement that makes you the most proud?

Mathair: My kids

Inion: My academic achievements. There was a lot of hard work and sacrifice as well as courage. I spent most of my almost two years having to endure being bullied while trying to stay focused and keep my grades up.

15. If you could go back in time, what is the one thing you would change?

Mathair: My accident.

Inion: We lost my youngest brother, Franklin Paul Perrone. He was born on October 31, 1999. I wish everyday that he were here with us and that the world could’ve experience what a great little man he would’ve been.

16. What would you do if you were a man (anatomically correct) for a day?

Mathair: Though the stock answer would be to know what sex feels like in a man’s body, with my extended years of wisdom I’ve learned that sex is much more pleasurable in a woman’s. So, I guess I’ll say to experience sexual gratification only to know what it feels like to have you brain shut off for that hour afterwards.

Inion: I’ve always wanted to pee standing up. From what I was told by Mathair, I even tried to accomplish that a couple of times during my toddler years and failed miserably. Sorry about the clean up, mom.

17. If you had super powers, what would it be and why?

Mathair: What a glorious question! Though most would say flying or super strength, to me a true gift is one that is used within your mind. Telepathy. I despise liars and I’m a borderline control freak, so it would be ideal for me.

Inion: I love the ocean. I’m a seventh generation Floridian and have grown up with salt water in my veins. My dream was to be a mermaid, but when I couldn’t grow a tail I settled for trying to hold my breath as long as I could underwater.

18. What is your dream job?

Mathair: A judge on chopped. LOL. More specifically, a food critic

Inion: What I’m doing now, only getting paid.

19. Share 3 non-Wordpress sites that you just can’t live without. And tell us why.

Both:

Google: it is my flashlight in the dark world and helps us find any and everything we need.

EBay: Where we do all of our shopping

Goodreads: it’s our Mecca to find the best that the world of literature has to offer.

20. Describe your craziest day.

Mathair: My first day at my job with the Florida department of law enforcement. I was eager to impress the agents with my clerical skills. And, because I’d gotten such a prestigious position at such a young age, I was cocky and a little bit too big for my britches. As I was exiting my car, my seatbelt got stuck. I got the bright idea that I would climb out of the seatbelt, but little did I know that two months after this incident, my vehicle would be recalled due to defective seatbelts. As I pulled on the strap and tried to squeeze my head through, it tightened on me, fastening my head to the chair and locking me in place. I won’t go into details, I will tell you that it took four agents to cut me out after I had been stuck in my car for an hour.

Inion:

I have made a career out of embarrassing myself. I’m a major klutz and I have horrible verbal diarrhea, which is why I tend be a bit of a recluse. My craziest day would have to be when one year ago I lost the memory stick that had our finished book. It took three hours and every member of my family tearing our home apart before Mathair found it in a pile of DVD’s. I was crucifying myself the whole day, even though Mathair said that the book didn’t mean more to her than I did and that if I didn’t calm down I was going to give myself a heart attack at 25.

21. What would you do if today were your last day on earth?

Mathair: Spend it with my family and pray we would get a get out of apocalypse free pass.

Inion: Spend it with my family eating anything I wanted.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thanks Inion N. Mathair. I know that Crazy Chicks and readers of this blog will appreciate what you have to say and I am in awe of the two of you. I’m so glad we met through this wonderful world of WordPress.

Stay tuned  for another installment of the Crazy Chick Q and A.

Get the CCC Badge

Join the Crazy Chicks Club.

Click here if you’re a Crazy Freak.

Visit my fan page on Facebook.

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

9 Responses to Crazy Chick Q & A #30

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Great post, great readers of Lafemmeroar !

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank Ren! 🙂 Inion N. Mathair are so inspiring!

  2. Wonderful interview!

  3. Inion- I love Lafayette too, I wish he existed in real life. Mathair – I also really liked Tom Hardy in Lawless, even though he only spoke about 13 words the whole movie, though that made me like him more. And I agree with both of your definitions of sexy – confidence is everything! Thanks for this post, it was great learning more about you!

    • The world would be a better, if not more “fabulous” place if there were more Lafayette’s in it. Right? LOL So glad you enjoyed the interview. We were so excited when Lafemme approached us with it… actually we jumped around the room and screamed. It’s our first interview and rightfully so was conducted by an awesome crazy chick. 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Perfect 7 | Inion N. Mathair

  5. Fun interview! And I’m glad to hear you’re both fans of two of my favourite things… Narnia and True Blood. Everyone needs a great escape! 😉

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Oh I’m a True Blood fan! I’ve read up to 9 and I love the series (although very very very different from the book).

  6. Scoop Jackson..."News 60" says:

    This is fun, but it seems like a survey for a dating site…or sounds like one…you know, from what I’ve been told…you know.

    Anyways, I like pickles too!

    Scoop

Talk to me :)

