Crazy Chick Q & A #30

This week, meet Carrie — Lady with a Truck

Why am I a crazy chick?
I don’t know I can’t so I do things without thinking them through a lot of the time. Like I got a job once because the woman couldn’t believe I had the audacity to apply for a job I had no qualifications for. When I was about 12 I wanted to learn how to swim so I joined the swim team. I didn’t even know how to dog paddle and was in competitions; that didn’t work out so well. Besides the initials fit. When I had my place at Cultus Lake my dad had a wood sign carved Carrie’s Cultus Cabin, and then I opened a daycare in town on Carleton St. and it was Carrie’s Carleton Corner Daycare, its only fitting I should be a CCC. 

1. Describe my blog in 3 words.
From the heart

2. Title of my favorite post.
Poverty Is For Other People. It’s one of my favorites because it was a post that just had a life of its own.  I had no idea where I was going with it when I started and did very little editing; I guess because it came from the heart and is something I get on my soapbox about. When I hit the “Publish” key I wasn’t sure if it was too heavy but it is one of the posts I’ve had the most positive comments on.

3. If I could eat one food for the rest of my life …
It would have to be watermelon. But it has to be really sweet juicy watermelon and seedless. If it’s all I am going to eat I want to be picky. It is almost a perfect food, it’s sweet, easy to chew, quenches your thirst at the same time, is low in calories, high in vitamins and it’s pretty AND it’s useful; if you scoop it out you have a bowl to hold things in, it can substitute for a pumpkin on Halloween. Water melon is an amazing fruit; you can even add vodka to it and have a Yucka Futz party.

4. Cook or eat out?
I used to love to cook but even then I still like to eat out. (You know I am fighting the urge to say something dirty here, just like that post you did the other day about conversations turning sexual)

5. Describe my fashion style.
Hmmmmmm I don’t know if I have a fashion style. I guess eclectic. I don’t really follow trends, I dress for my mood. I am tall so I can get away with a lot; I am an accessory junky; I love chunky rings, watches and jewelry, scarves, blazers, shoes, boots. I am an emotional shopper and dresser, I don’t care if “they” say I am too old to wear something if I feel good in it I will wear it until it falls apart.

6. Define the word sexy.
Not to be confused with being attractive or beautiful. A person can be gorgeous, a head turning good-looking man or woman and not be sexy. Sexy is an attitude, a subtle confidence, as sense of humor, just a hint of bad boy. (Knowing how to dance and having a great ass certainly helps, I like hands too) oh dear……..
7. Favorite book, movie, TV Show
I have so many books, I read non-fiction mostly one that sticks out that I loved and is so simple is “Everything I Ever Needed to Know I Learned In Kindergarten” it says it all. I love love love the Robert Munsch book “Love You Forever” I cry every time I read it. Every mother should have that book.
Movie – I love all the classics, but my all time favorite would have to be Mary Poppins, but then Sound of Music is right up there and It’s a Wonderful Life.
TV Show – I don’t even own a TV right now but even if I have one I don’t have any shows I HAVE to watch. When I do have a TV and want to watch something it will usually be the home and garden channel, I love those decorating shows; I like Dancing With the Stars and The Voice.

8. What makes me mad?
That question reminds me of what JC always used to say, “Only cows get mad” it made me want to beat him with a club. But what really makes me angry is injustice, and dishonesty.

9. What makes me happy?
Lots of things!! Knowing my son is happy and doing well, doing a good job or tackling something new and actually doing it right, being able to brighten someone’s day, my puppies make me laugh every day. Putzing in my garden always makes me happy and painting a picture makes me happy, finding a new pair of shoes in my size (size 11) that are on sale and I really like and can walk in makes me VERY happy.

10. What makes me sad?
Anyone or any animal suffering, I can’t stand to see any kind of suffering; its gotten really bad as I get older too, I cry at the drop of a hat these days. I want to end all the suffering in the world. I sound like a beauty pageant contestant.

11. Favorite Colours
Green I think, I have a lot of it in my closet, and black.

12. What am I most grateful for?
Oh God, good question, there are so many things and the one that comes to mind and kinda surprised me but I will blurt it out. That my suicide attempt a year and a half ago failed. I am really glad I didn’t leave my son with that legacy and I think I have done some really good things and made a positive difference in the world since then.

13. One achievement that makes me most proud …
I have to say my blog right now. I have accomplished what I set out to do but on a much larger scale than I ever imagined, I hope it keeps growing.

14. If I could go back in time what is the one thing I would change?
These are getting tougher. Everything is so tied together, change one thing and it alters everything else. But if I could change one thing it would be to have cared less about what men thought of me and if I had a date for the weekend and not wasted time waiting for the phone to ring.

15. What would I do if I was a man with a schlong for a day?
I don’t have penis envy but I do have pee envy……I would stand up to pee, on the side of the road. And I would say something like, “Hold on I have to go talk to a man about a horse.”

16. If I had a super power what would it be and why?
I wish I had the power to show people the future like in the story Scrooge. Show people how their actions affect other people in the world around them and maybe they would think twice before they do some of the stupid shit they do.

17. What is my dream job?
I think I just got hired to do it. aside from the job I am about to start in the new year my dream job would be to have “Ladies With Trucks”, a whole fleet of them; helping abused women get back on their feet and be independent. What I am doing could very well lead into that.

18. Share 3 non-wordpress sites I can’t live without.
Ask.com, Mapquest, Craigs List

 
I seem to have a lot of crazy days but the one that comes to mind first was my son’s wedding. He was living in Calgary Alberta but they were getting married in Vancouver, they were flying in the day before the wedding so really couldn’t do anything themselves. It was a small simple wedding so I offered to do all the flowers; the bridal bouquet, 4 bridesmaid’s bouquets, 4 men boutonnières, and the flowers for the church. Lilacs were in season and a shrub called Bridal Bouquet that has cascading tiny white flowers, I had to go out and steal the flowers from people’s yards and parks and such and then arrange them just before the wedding so they would stay fresh. Two nights before I made the bridesmaids bouquets and the next day they looked like shit so I had to go steal more flowers.

I stayed up all night arranging flowers and went to bed for about an hour and half when the sun started coming up.

I dyed my hair while I was doing the flowers and forgot to rinse in time and ended up with carrot red hair.

I had bought a beautiful mother of the groom outfit; it was sea foam green chiffon, a skirt to the floor and a sleeveless shell for the top. It was slightly wrinkled so I was going to touch it up with a cool iron but I didn’t check the setting and the minute the iron touched the chiffon it melted. Right in the front of the shell was the shape of an iron melted into the fabric, like I mean it melted the fabric so badly there was a hole. I panicked at first but then remembered I had a long floral silk scarve/shawl that matched so I strategically wrapped it around my shoulders and if it draped just so you couldn’t see the iron mark.
I drove an old GMC pick up at the time, I wore jeans and planned on getting dressed at the church. I was running a little late now after the wardrobe malfunction and the church was a good hour away so I was trying to make up for lost time but my truck was running really rough; back firing, surging, coughing. (JC had been tuning it up again). I was about 5 blocks from the church when it just gave a huge cough and died right in the middle of turning a corner, cars were honking and giving me dirty looks like I purposely decided to park there. I got out and left the truck right where it was and ran to the rest of the way to the church with my dress over my arm. My son was standing outside the church looking nervous and when he saw me running towards him, arms waving madly, flaming red hair, unable to speak because I was so out of breath, babbling something about an iron melting flowers that coughed and died;  he looked horrified!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thanks Carrie.  Readers … don’t forget to visit Carrie’s blog and say hello! 🙂 Stay tuned next week for another installment of the Crazy Chick Q and A.

Get the CCC Badge

Join the Crazy Chicks Club.

Click here if you’re a Crazy Freak.

Visit my fan page on Facebook.

© 2013 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

30 Responses to Crazy Chick Q & A #30

  1. Carrie is one of my favourite Bloggers so it’s great to see you giving her more web space here. Good for you. I rather like the crazy chicks, although there are many I don’t know.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      She is one of mine as well … her posts are full of truth, tragedy and triumph … the 3 Ts of life!

    • Countingducks, you are a sweetheart; always there with words of encouragement!
      Thankyou

  2. Having a small brain I’m not sure if I’m commenting on Carrie’s Blog or your Blog. Carrie is on my Blogroll, which I am in the middle of working my way down, so I may come across this post there anyway. To be honest, I’ve got myself pretty confused and I hardly know which Blog I am commenting on. I have a toy batterry powered penguin sitting on the table beside me. I suspect his brain is in better order than mine so I think I’ll wander off and ask his advice

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      It doesn’t matter … what matters is that you commented and that you write the most amazing essays about life! 🙂

  3. Love you, Carrie ❤ Xxxx Good luck on your new job, girl

    Ps. My daddy says hello.

    • Kim! Thankyou! Awwww give your dad a hug for me, how sweet! I am LOVING my new job:-!! I hope to do a post today with a pic of my big ass truck!
      Love ya
      Carrie

  4. Great interview, once again. Thanks for introducing us to another Crazy Chick.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I’m trying to do these on a regular basis and thanks for jump starting it with your amazing interview!! 🙂

    • Selena nice to meet you!

  5. I’m still trying to figure out what you could say dirty about eating out/in…..

    Seeing a man about a horse….draining the lizard…..etc……highly overrated…..

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Oh I can think of lots of things … 🙂

      • that i don’t doubt….

      • You don’t buy beer, you just rent it.

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          Does that mean you rent the hangover as well? 🙂

    • Joe, draining the lizard?? Never heard that one before; kinda wish I still hadn’t. Lol sorry just kidding.
      Nice to Meet you Joe
      Carrie

  6. nancyelauzon says:

    Hey, I have pee envy too! Standing at the side of the road to pee would be my dream come true. Except I’d want to be able to remove my penis afterwards, it would only get in the way. Welcome to the CCC!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lol detachable schlong … I bet men would get in less trouble if they can “detach” in sticky situations 🙂

    • Nancy, nice to meet someone who can relate to my pee envy. IF men’s schlongs were detachable you know what would happen; they’d end up leaving them laying around and we’d end up having to pick it up so company didn’t trip over it or the dog didn’t pack it somewhere and bury it. It would just be another headache for us.
      I have a couple of Shar-peis; daddy and daughter, she wants to do everything daddy does and it cracks me up every time she copies her dad and pees like a boy. She cocks her leg, and the pee runs down her other leg. They say a pet is like their owner, I have to agree, she does things because she doesn’t know she can’t.

  7. Tony McGurk says:

    Only cows get mad. I like it!!!
    It reminds me of a joke when Mad Cow disease was big. A couple go into a restaurant & the husband orders a steak. The waiter asks “But sir, what about the mad cow???”. The husband replies “It’s OK, she can order for herself”

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lmao Tony! :))

    • Tony, lmao, cute!!
      If you liked that one you might like something else he used to say,
      “I’m not about to get into a battle of wits with an unarmed person”.
      Thanks for your comment Tony nice to meet you!
      Carrie

  8. I adored, “Everything I Ever Needed to Know I Learned In Kindergarten”…it’s true, isn’t it? Most of those fundamental lessons never really change 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks for stopping by Zen and Genki! Carrie will love reading your comment! 🙂

    • Zenith and Genki, so nice to meet you, another fan of my favorite book. So simple, so straight forward just like kids are and then we grow up and forget the basic principles of getting along and playing well with others.
      Thanks for your comment!

  9. Carrie, I am very glad your “attempt” did not succeed. Not only for your son, but for the world. I’m off the charts on mental disorders, but I happen to think those whom I call “the other-minded,” we make the world a much more tolerable place. We think outside the box… hell, we are not in the same zip code AS the box!! Loved your comment on what makes a person sexy, I agree… and yes, I agree about the butt part, too. Keep on writing, sister. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/01/16/armed/

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank you so much for your comment and I’m sure Carrie will appreciate your words as well! 🙂

    • Sharp little pencil, thank you for your kind words! I agree about the world needing people who think out of the box. The older I get the further away from the ‘”box” I seem to get but I’m ok with that. I never get bored and I like my neighbors.

  10. Lefemme, thank you for the interview, sorry for taking so long to get by, busy with the new job and all!
    Hey, remember I sent in my answers in two parts? And sent the 2nd part first (so typical and another reason I qualify to be a crazy chick, I do alot of things ass backwards)
    Here is the last question, because I think it was my favorite question. Oh end the end to question 19 too.
    Love ya Lefemme!

    His best man and groomsmen managed to figure out what I was trying to say and went off in search of the truck and flowers. They managed to get the truck to the church, the flowers looked wonderful, my shawl covered the hole, I walked my son down the aisle and cried like a baby through the whole thing. Alls well that ends well. I just wish I didn’t have the flaming red hair in all the pictures.

    20. What would I do if today was my last day on earth?
    I could die right this minute and do it with no regrets, I know that the people I love know I love them, I have apologized to anyone that deserved one at the time. I would probably clean the house a bit so no one has to clean up my mess, burn a few pictures and letters I have kept. And then take my puppies for a long long walk with my son and just sit by the river loving my kiddo. There aren’t any wise words I need to share with him, I would tell him how proud I am of him, how grateful I am to have been his mom, and I would say the same thing to him that I always have since he was a wee boy crying when I dropped him off at daycare, “I love you, I’ll miss you but I won’t cry, I’ll see you in a little while”.

  11. Lefemme, thank you for through interview; it was an honor; its an honor to be considered a crazy chick!! I just wanted to point out that the last part of the interview is missing. Totally not your fault; if you remember I sent in my answers in 2 parts and sent part 2 in first. (typical of me and another reason U qualify as a crazy chick; I am always doing things ass backwards)
    I’ve taken the liberty of adding them below. Its actually the end of question 19 and my favorite question #20.

    Thanks again, I was honored to be interviewed, for that matter I’m honored to be in the Crazy Chick Club!!
    Love ya!
    Carrie

    His best man and groomsmen managed to figure out what I was trying to say and went off in search of the truck and flowers. They managed to get the truck to the church, the flowers looked wonderful, my shawl covered the hole, I walked my son down the aisle and cried like a baby through the whole thing. Alls well that ends well. I just wish I didn’t have the flaming red hair in all the pictures.

    20. What would I do if today was my last day on earth?
    I could die right this minute and do it with no regrets, I know that the people I love know I love them, I have apologized to anyone that deserves one at the time. I would probably clean the house a bit so no one has to clean up my mess, burn a few pictures and letters I have kept. And then take my puppies for a long long walk with my son and just sit by the river loving my kiddo. There aren’t any wise words I need to share with him, I would tell him how proud I am of him, how grateful I am to have been his mom, and I would say the same thing to him that I always have since he was a wee boy crying when I dropped him off at daycare, “I love you, I’ll miss you but I won’t cry, I’ll see you in a little while”.

Talk to me :)

