Crazy Chick Q & A #4

With over 50 members of the Crazy Chicks Club here’s another installment of the “Crazy Chick Q and A.” I think this is a great way to get know the Crazy Chicks members. My strategy in choosing my interviewees was easy–I employed the scientific method of picking out a name from a hat. 🙂

This week, meet Lorna of Lorna’s Voice blog.

Why are you a Crazy Chick? 

Let’s see. I’m a Buddhist blogger, middle-aged middle-child, PhD. with delusions of ineptitude, literal dizzy blonde, Highly Sensitive Person just giving myself permission to I speak my truth once I figure it out, and not naturally a “joiner” of clubs. Why wouldn’t I be the Poster Chick for the CCC? Plus I love to laugh and the other Chicks in this club tickle my funny bone.

Describe your blog in three words. 

Genuine, Amusing, Provocative

What is the title of your favorite post? Why? 

“To Be Honest With You…” was one of my first posts and was, gasp!, selected to be Freshly Pressed. It’s my favorite because it connected me with so many of my precious blogging friends. Without that post, I’d still be writing, but I wouldn’t feel so embedded in this wonderful community.

If you could eat one food item for the rest of your life what would it be and why? 

I can never pick just one thing. Plus, if I picked just one thing, I’d waste away from malnutrition. That being said, I have a hankering for watermelon that rarely goes away. So if I’m going to die of something malnutrition-related, let me drown in watermelons.

Do you prefer to cook or eat out? 

Eating out is my preference because then I don’t have to do the old “hunter-gatherer” thing in the grocery store. I’m not a “foodie” and am rarely hungry (don’t hate me, please—it has to do with constantly being dizzy).

Describe your fashion style. 

Comfortable and multicolorful, except when I feel like wearing solid colors and showing off my figure. Oh, let’s face it, I don’t think about fashion. I shop at thrift stores and buy what fits and appeals to me. I don’t own a designer anything.

Define the word sexy. 

Looking into the eyes of the person you desire and feel the passion staring back at you.

What’s your favorite: book, movie, music and television show?  

Again with the favorites! I can’t name one specific title in any category, but I can identify a quality that makes me love each. That’s the best I can do.

·        Book: any book, regardless of topic, that is well-crafted (words are used in surprising and interesting ways). I read for style as much as content.

·        Movie: any movie that has three-dimensional characters and an unpredictable plot. I won’t watch violent or scary movies. There’s enough of that in the world. I watch movies to be entertained.

·        Music: anything I can sing to without sounding like a banshee and dance to without looking like I just missed my meds.

·        TV show: NOT reality shows, which leaves witty, interesting comedies or dramas without violence. I don’t watch much TV.

What makes you mad?

Golly, gee. I don’t get angry. I don’t even get even. I’m a “live and let live” kind of gal. No road rage. No swearing. I think that makes other people mad.

What makes you happy? 

The joys of others.

What makes you sad? 

The suffering of others.

What’s your favorite color? 

Depends on my mood. Since my mood varies, so does my favorite color. I’m not bipolar (or bicolor); I just fancy different colors at different times. Am I being difficult?

What are you most grateful for in this world? 

This moment.

What is the one achievement that makes you the most proud? 

So far, you mean, right? Because I’ve got a lot of years ahead of me. Getting my doctorate ranks right up there. So does beating alcoholism. Oops. I mentioned two…

If you could go back in time, what is the one thing you would change? 

I’d break the thing that could make me time travel backwards. That’s just asking for trouble, if you ask me. And you did. So I’m telling you, change one thing about the past and before you know it, alligators are wearing your hide for their shoes.

What would you do if you were a man (anatomically correct) for a day?

I’d do what any self-respecting woman without penis-envy would do: do anything to help me get comatose for the next 24 hours and promise never to utter the words, “If I were a man, this wouldn’t be happening to me.”

If you had super powers, what would it be and why? 

What kind of a question is that? I do have superpowers. Can’t you feel me using them on you right now? No? Better go back and take a my Superpower Refresher Course and get my complementary cape and push-up bra…

What is your dream job?

Being a Happologist.

My job would be to go to any workplace that needed some cheering up and spread some light-heartedness and a whole lot of hugs (keeping personal space issues in mind). My goal would be to leave the workplace a happier place because the people working there simply feel better about themselves and their lives. I wouldn’t start with firms on Wall Street…

Share 3 non-Wordpress sites that you just can’t live without. And tell us why.

http://www.google.com/imghp?hl=en&tab=wi (Google Images) because, except for the hokey pictures I take, it’s where I get the zany pictures to animate my stories.

www.snopes.com because this is my go to site for fact-checking and off-the-wall but true news stories that sometimes inspires a post.

http://www.literature-map.com/ This is a cool site that allows you to type in a favorite author and it will pop up all other authors that write in a similar style or genre. A must-check-out for all the avid readers out there.

Describe your craziest day. 

Get ready. This is a long sentence. Recently separated  after 26 years of marriage, I was waiting for my mortgage to be approved so I could close on my condo, but the bank was taking so long that I moved out of my home of 20+ years that my husband was making me rent and was staying (rent-free) alone at my sister’s vacation home hoping the sellers wouldn’t pull the contact (most of my earthly possessions were in a leaky van), when I got struck by “spash lightning” while walking my dog and had to call 911 because 4 hours later I felt like the life energy had drained from me. The operator asked me my location and I couldn’t say. Then she asked me about drug and alcohol use. Hunky EMTs arrived and took me to the ER where I was sure that if I lost consciousness, I would never wake up. The doctors determined I had PTSD. But it could have been from any number of things, not just the lightning strike. That was one crazy day.

What would you do if today were your last day on earth? 

How do I know it’s not my last day on earth in this lifetime? So I’ll just do what I do the best way I know how. When a kind idea comes to me, I’ll act on it. When a funny idea comes to me, I’ll write about it. When I need a hug, I’ll go get it. I’ve already made sure everyone I love knows it and my underwear is appropriate for curiosity-seekers.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thanks Lorna.  Stay tuned next week for another installment of the Crazy Chick Q and A.

Nominated for Best Humor Blog at Bloggers Choice Awards. Please vote 🙂

Get the CCC Badge

Join the Crazy Chicks Club.

Click here if you’re a Crazy Freak.

Visit my fan page on Facebook.

© 2011 Lafemmeroar

About Lafemmeroar
Writer, blogger, humorist. Visit my blog to know more :)) Laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it.

33 Responses to Crazy Chick Q & A #4

  1. hollyjb says:

    Wow Lorna! This kind of makes me feel selfish, lol. 😛 I love that we can all be different, but still get along. Definitely want to go check out that author site. It sounds great! Awesome to get an even closer glimpse into your life.

    Wouldn’t it be cool if the CC’s held a convention and went around singing our theme song at the top of our lungs and doing other ‘crazy’ stuff. Then people would ask us why and we’d just say we’re livin’ the dream – being ourselves with other like minded individuals who are at the same time totally different.

    That could be a blast!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Great idea on the CC convention … someday I hope it happens. As far as the song … I know you can belt out a tune … do you write music? 🙂

      • hollyjb says:

        Haha. I tried once. I wrote a poem in school (grade 9 or 10 maybe) and tried to put it to music. I helped write a song for church once, but that was in a group. I’ve toyed with the idea lately, but I don’t have any good material because my life’s been pretty meh, lol. I should print off some staff paper and try. But I thought we already had a theme song? The ‘King of Anything’ song. Hey, if you or someone wants to write lyrics I can try my hand at some music, but I can’t promise anything. In university I did my very best to not have to write anything, lol.

        • Lafemmeroar says:

          We do have a club song, but it would be great if we had one written by a Crazy Chick 🙂

          • hollyjb says:

            Well…you could always get the club members to ‘donate’ a line or two of lyrics…put it together to form a song. As long as there’s a chorus we can have as many verses as we want, lol. You can always see if there’s anyone else interested in writing music. I can try to as long as I’m not pushed. Maybe I’ll start thinking of stuff now. You can always do a poll on what type of song we want; angry, fun, ‘crazy’, etc. I’m thinking it would have to be upbeat. Something to get the blood pumping, lol.

            • Lafemmeroar says:

              I like the idea of a poll and getting the CCs to contribute 🙂 I agree with everything you said. No rush. Just do it when the mood strikes 🙂

  2. SilentMyth says:

    “What’s your favorite color?
    Depends on my mood. Since my mood varies, so does my favorite color. I’m not bipolar (or bicolor); I just fancy different colors at different times. Am I being difficult? ”

    Its like you asked Me this =O
    Love this Q&A thingy..

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  3. What are you most grateful for in this world?
    This moment.

    That is a beautiful answer, Lorna.

    Loved the questions! Loved the answers! Fabulous Stuff :))

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks Kim 🙂

  4. Tori Nelson says:

    Lorna, I could use just a dab of your zen. You seem so happy & peaceful!

  5. Lorna’s blog is just as entertaining as her interview. Check it out.

  6. Hi you,
    Great interviews and 50 members…wow, very impressive but not surprising.
    Enjoy the rest of your evening.

    Much Love.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thanks Phil. I think we have about 55+ now 🙂 And can you believe the whole idea came about through comments and replies. Blogging really is a wonderful way to connect with others in celebrating our individuality 🙂

      • It sure is. 😉

  7. jsh0608 says:

    This was a great Q&A…and Lorna…I love when you said you weren’t bicolor…that is too funny. Great answers. :0)

  8. I enjoyed re-reading my answers. I forgot some of the things I said! This is a fun project you’re doing, Laffe. Thanks for connecting and reconnecting us!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      I’m glad you had fun with the interview and you are very welcome Crazy Chick 🙂

    • tamariez says:

      Awesome interview, answers.. and I completely agree with everything you just said! =)

      • Lafemmeroar says:

        Glad you like it Tamariez. Stay tuned for next week’s installment 🙂

  9. Becoming Bitter says:

    I liked all your answers. The suffering of others (the innocent anyways) makes me sad too. By the way, thank you for stopping by and liking a post of mine. I appreciate it. Congratulations for being nominated for best humor blog. Hope you win.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank you. The Q & A is a weekly feature here on my blog with members of the Crazy Chicks Club.

  10. Aurora, HSP says:

    Why am I not surprised – Happologist – I love it, lol! Thanks LFR for the interview and thanks Lorna for doing what you do best, warm fuzzy smiles all round 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Oh I like the sound of Happologist 🙂

  11. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    What are you most grateful for in this world?
    I would have to say my friends, where would we be without these wonderful people. 🙂

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      So very true Mags … 🙂

  12. Another billiant interview.

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      Thank you and glad you enjoyed it Gillian 🙂

  13. Bodhirose says:

    I love Lorna! I’m a big fan of her wonderful blog and insightful writing. I enjoyed this so much–I look forward to learning about more of my sister chicks in future Q and As. Thanks, Laf!

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      You are very welcome. I love that you love the interview 🙂 This is what the CCC is all about 🙂

  14. jules says:

    Yes! Google Images is great for finding images!!! Especially of celebrities acting odd!!!

    Jules

    • Lafemmeroar says:

      lol on the “odd celebrities” comment 🙂

      • jules says:

        yes! I know, it’s also great for finding nostalgic images, too!
        Jules
        http://andsuddenlyisee.wordpress.com

Talk to me :)

